The Warmth of Winter Sunlight

December 27, 2012 § 3 Comments

This is the last month of my year-long, monthly themed photography project! My word for December was apricity, which means “the warmth of the sun in the winter.” I love that there is a word for such specific warmth. I also love that I got a whole month to photograph light, which I’m drawn to anyway. (And though apricity refers to sunlight, I have a few scenes of winter light (i.e. Christmas lights) because that conveys warmth as well.

I came across the word apricity last winter and decided it would be the word I ended on. I envisioned fresh snowfalls and light glistening from the ground. But much changes in a year. I moved to Chicago, where there are rainy and grey skies, but no snow and no pretty landscapes and certainly no glistening. It wasn’t until the last few days of the year that I found snow. Here are my favorites from the month.

lake at winter

Chicago neighborhood

Chicago downtown

cup in sunlight

winter dinner

winter moonlight

View the rest here.

I’ve loved doing this project as it was over the course of the year that I began to see myself as a photographer. I was even asked by several people to take photos at their events! Thanks to many of you who commented on these posts or encouraged me in person. You gave me confidence to keep snapping away.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to The Warmth of Winter Sunlight

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Warmth of Winter Sunlight at offthefrontporch.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

