It Takes Two (or Three)

February 17, 2011 § 1 Comment

It’s so satisfying when your favorite things meet up and produce more greatness. Such was the grouping of Mumford & Sons, The Avett Brothers, and Bob Dylan stomping it out together at the 2011 Grammys. What a perfect medley of musicians!

Here are a few more perfect pairings that make my day:

1. Old School writers and the Millennial generation

I'm sure I'd pump out Ray Bradbury-esque brilliance if only I had a typewriter with spellcheck!

The USB typewriter is described as “a groundbreaking innovation in the field of obsolescence.” Yes, please.

2. Chocolate and fruit in scones

I’ve made this recipe twice. I use frozen cranberries and white chocolate chips, and I add half whole wheat flour. They are GOOD! I don’t understand people who don’t like scones.

I'm still learning how to take food pictures.

3. Mixtapes and literary characters

I love the idea of Mr. Darcy jamming to “The Shape of My Heart” by Noah and the Whale (If there’s any love in me, don’t let it show). Hamlet is given “Ghostbusters” and Cat Stevens’ “Father and Son.” And of course little Alice gets “Free Falling” and Dylan’s “You’re a Big Girl Now.” Go and listen.

4. Sci-fi and the 1800s

Connie Willis’ funny novel, To Say Nothing of the Dog, pairs cat people and dog people, time travel and poetry. As she writes, it’s “a Grand Design involving the entire course of history and all of time and space that, for some unfathomable reason, chose to work out its designs with cats and croquet mallets and penwipers, to say nothing of the dog. And a hideous piece of Victorian artwork.” It’s a hoot.

5. Billy Collins’ poetry and three-year-olds

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to It Takes Two (or Three)

  • Rachel says:

    The USB typewriter? I’ll take two. Three-year-olds reading Billy Collins? I’ll take three. Thanks for introducing me to some beautiful things in this blog post!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It Takes Two (or Three) at offthefrontporch.

meta

