Rhythm

April 10, 2011 § 3 Comments

I’m writing again on a lightning, thundering, and rainy evening. The tap-tap of my fingers hitting the keyboard, the drip-drop of the rain, and the clap-bang of thunder is a percussion set all on its own.  The tick-tock of my yellow kitchen clock is the perfect metronome for the percussion section of the night sky orchestra.

The rhythms I hear tonight remind me of some of the students that I see for speech-language therapy at school. In comparison to their peers, they move to the beat of a different drum. This expression comes from Henry David Thoreau who wrote:

If a man loses pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured, or far away.
I keep a collection of what my students say and this allows me to see a glimpse into their world. Below are some of my favorites:
1. Playing “In A Pickle” with an 18-year-old with Autism
Me: Do you think love is bigger than thoughts?
Boy: Well, when I think about Elaina I get worried when I don’t see her.
2. Conversation with 17-year-old with a cognitive disorder
Girl: What are you doing for Christmas break?
Me: First, I’m going up north.
Girl: Oh, that’s where Santa lives!
3. Conversation during free time in a kindergarten class
Boy: Do you speak Spanish?
Me: No, I speak Hmong. I’m Asian.
Boy: I want to be a super agent too.
What seems to be comprehensible for some is astonishing to others, even if it is just trying to get to first position in ballet.
Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Rhythm

  • Rachel says:

    I love this post, Pakou. I recently had a conversation with my client that went something like this:

    Me: We’re going to have a good day today, right?
    Him: Right, right.
    Me: Why are we going to have a good day?
    Him: Good, good. Happy. Dance. Good.

    I completely agreed with him.

    And that video melted my heart.

    Rachel

  • ft095 says:

    If God is the DJ, then Life is the dance floor; Love is the rhythm, and You are the music.

  • Vang says:

    Hi Pakou! Aw, I love this post. Reading your speech responses make me smile. It is true…everybody dances to the beat of their own drum :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rhythm at offthefrontporch.

meta

