Giving within our stories

May 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

In four weeks I’ll be living and working in Uganda (be prepared for some guests posts) as I partner with Invisible Children. My story with Invisible Children began 5 years ago when I saw the documentary “Rough Cut.” Three young filmmakers captured the images of the night commuters and child soldiers’ stories. The story compelled me to give my time, energy, and resources. There are so many others who are also giving because of the stories they have heard.

With my windows down and sun beaming on me, I grooved to a new song the local radio showcased. I soon learned the song was by Brett Dennen, who is partnering with Invisible Children in an effort to end Africa’s longest war. All of the profits (all 100%) from his new album Lover Boy are being donated to Invisible Children. This man has soul in his music.  I’m sharing three videos because I couldn’t just share one.

Brett’s “Comeback Kid (That’s My Dog)” was the song I heard on that sunny day driving with the windows down.

This raw version (using only a single microphone) of “Walk Away Watch Me Burn” is so beautiful.

“Queen of the Westside” will definitely get you groovin’ and bumpin’ your head. I dare you to stay still.

A nod to Brett who is choosing to invest on the behalf of another.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Giving within our stories at offthefrontporch.

meta

