Weekend do: Up edition

May 20, 2011 § 3 Comments

1. Do live it up-literally. I like to imagine what it might be like to daily wake up among tree branches.

A blue treehouse in a willow tree is almost perfect. Gordon Brown, Collins Design.

2. Do listen to Givers. Paste describes their sound as “sort of psychedelic buoyancy, homegrown exoticism…and rattling optimism/joy.”  Watch for their debut album to release on June 7th by Glassnote. Their song “Up Up Up” definitely is a musical illustration of goodness that will reel you into their interesting, uplifting, and captivating sound.

3. Do stargaze. One of my favorite things to do is lay on my back, free of city lights, and look up at the night sky. Grab some blankets to lay on or cover up with, friends, and find an open space to find those constellations and maybe a shooting star. Click here for this week’s sky news.

In the fields of stars - Jessica's Pinterest

Happy Weekend!

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Weekend do: Up edition

  • This entry makes me so happy! For weeks, my son’s pointed out every airplane he can see or hear. At first, I thought it was because he was especially interested in airplanes.

    I took him to a music store last week and walk straight into him when he stopped mid-corridor to stare at a poster high up the wall. He had the same look of awe he does when he sees airplanes. The rest of our trip to the record store involved him joyously examining every single poster.

    It was a greater reminder to look up sometimes, and really take in everything that’s around us!

  • Pakou, this made me think of the Jerry Seinfeld bit where he says: “When you’re little, your life is up. The future is up. Everything you want is up. “Wait up! Hold up! Shut up! Mom, I’ll clean up! Let me stay up!” Parents of course are just the opposite. Everything is down. “Just calm down. Slow down. Come down here. Sit down. Put that down.”

    Love it. – Abi

  • Daniel says:

    Great entry. I am listening to The Givers album right now and loving it! Thanks so much for the recommendation. I am so wary of newer music sometimes. I can’t help but be a cynic and it’s albums like these that remind me to lighten up.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend do: Up edition at offthefrontporch.

meta

