One Skirt, Four Different Ways

September 7, 2011 § 5 Comments

Thrifting is one of my favorite activities. Some of my favorite outfits have been made entirely of thrift finds. About 95% of my furniture and home goods are second-hand. Although it all doesn’t match, each unique piece complements each other well. When I find something incredible for only a few dollars it makes this little heart of mine swell to double its size.

The other day I was at the local thrift store and saw the cutest button print maxi length skirt with a matching sash belt. I tried it on in the dressing room and it was two sizes too big, but I could not resist the cute print. I purchased it knowing I could work with it. It was only $3.99 for the skirt. Along with the skirt, I bought a navy striped top ($3.99) and various vintage picture frames for a home decor project (I’ll share this one later).

The Button Skirt that captured my eye.

Out of my thrifted skirt I was able to make a few outfits. I hope you are inspired by these ideas on how to stretch your wardrobe a little more.

1. I paired the striped long-sleeved tee with the button skirt and brown boots for a cute “summer going into fall” outfit. Then I pulled the maxi length skirt high up and wore the long sleeve tee on top for a fitted look.

2. I wore the button skirt high wasted and the matching sash as a belt. A simple change in the waistline can make a big wardrobe difference.

3. To have the long layered look, the skirt was paired with a white long-sleeved tee and long navy sweater. The sash could be tied around the waist for a more form-fitting long layered look. This is a cozy, comfortable, and cute outfit for the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings.

4. For a more “night out on the town” look the skirt was worn as a strapless dress. I used the sash for an empire waist cinched with brown heeled boots. Fall evenings can be quite crisp and to warm up, bring a sweater that matches the dress.

A nod to my roommate who helped take the photos. Thanks M!

What is one of your favorite wardrobe thrift finds?

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to One Skirt, Four Different Ways

  • Oh, man! This leaves me missing my law school thrift school days so bad.

    I think the only thrift store find I still have is a long green velvet skirt from Paris. I’ve had it for more than a decade now but wear it seldom.

    One other thrift store find has a story to it, actually . . .

    Once I found a beautiful long-sleeved yellow shirt with a couple of large flowers (not flower print!) on it. I wore that shirt to take photos of a creator I admire; he actually commented on the shirt, which I later wore to work as an extra on one of his shows. When I was moving, I told my sister, “I will give you this shirt, but only on the condition that you give it back to me if you ever decide you don’t want it!”

    I asked after it a couple of years ago. “Oh, that shirt? I gave it to Goodwill!”

    *headdesk*

    Hopefully someone else is loving it as much as I did!

    • I have a similar story but it has a happier ending. I have a vintage clock that looks quite whimsical. I gave it to a friend but after a few weeks asked for it back. It was such a great piece and there is nothing quite like it. Thankfully my friend still had it.

      I’m sure someone is looking fabulous in the shirt. I am sure!

  • Laura Mettler says:

    Ooh, I like the first and last ones a lot! My favorite recent thrift store find was a pair of Frye motorcycle boots.

  • shelbslynns says:

    Super cute skirt! I love thrifting as well. Second-hand clothes are some of the most beautiful and well made you can find. So glad I found another blogger who appreciates thrift!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One Skirt, Four Different Ways at offthefrontporch.

meta

