Please, Hang On My Wall

September 23, 2011 § 3 Comments

There are rooms in my home that are still bare-nakedly bare. I have been dreaming about some pieces of art that I would put in each room of the house. Dream with me as I choose room by room a piece of art.

I really enjoy the bright inks that Samanatha Hahn uses in her watercolor illustrations. The blend of colors are beautiful. For the entry way I would hang this:

Hooray-Samanthan Hahn

I would also find room for more of her pieces. Some other favorites are here and here.

Next to my most prized piece of furniture, my bookshelf, I would hang Daniel Frosts’s illustrations. He is a London illustrator who creates magical images, which pairs great with my children’s picture book collection. I am dreaming about my nephew and niece reading through books beneath this piece:

Gulliver's Travels-Daniel Frost

My dining room already has a Hmong story cloth that is filled with stitches of scenes of the way life once was for Hmong people. Go up the stairs and my bedroom will have a Bobbette Rose piece of work on the wall. I was first introduced to her work at a gallery showing last year and immediately became an admirer. I would hang the wax painting below in my room.

I Was Born Into a Violent and Beautiful World-Bobbette Rose

Although I could hang something beautiful and permanent from an artist on the walls of my work room, I think I will leave it like it is. I have clipboards and corkboards on the wall with images, words, photos, and fabric of what inspires me. The wall is a part of my creative work space. This wall is never bare and constantly changing. I like this. It is the wall in my home to create my own art.

What visual artist are you currently inspired by?

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Please, Hang On My Wall

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Please, Hang On My Wall at offthefrontporch.

meta

