Color by Color

November 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

The first week of school I had my students pick a crayon of their choice. I said, “Choose any color you want.” Most responded with, “Why?” I said, “It’s for a project. You will see.” A month or two passed and a couple of fourth graders asked, “Miss Vang where are the crayons?” I confessed and said, “You will see the crayons in a week. I promise.” Good thing I have students keeping me accountable. Here is a photo step-by-step of this unnamed art piece.

1. When the crayons are all glued onto the canvas, start melting the crayons by using a hair dryer.

2. After the crayons have melted let it dry.

3. Every artist must sign their work.

4. The art piece hangs in Room 112.

A nod to my students.

I want to challenge you reader to use everyday art supplies or tools in an interesting way. Dear Readers, maybe you can try to use wires, color pencils, or erasers. What will you try?

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Color by Color

  • Jacki says:

    This is awesome! I might have to try it with my 4-year-olds :)

  • ErikH says:

    I love this idea and am sharing it with my younger sister, Hanna. She likes to fill water balloons with water color and throw them at a semi-vertical canvas. It creates a nice effect, with inter-mingling splashes and drips.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Color by Color at offthefrontporch.

meta

