Abi’s Top Posts

December 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

Continuing the trend of end-of-year listing that Pakou started Monday, here are the posts I most enjoyed writing this year.

Top 5 posts of 2011:

1. When Daredevil Christopher Wright’s The Longsuffering Song came out this fall, I listened to this short collection of songs repeatedly for days. The EP evoked very specific images for me, and both the words and the music seemed to speak clearly to what I was thinking and feeling at the time. As a result of writing about something I was so absorbed in and which so deeply resonated with me, my review of the EP has become my favorite piece to have written for anyone in the last year.

Plus, I’m just super proud of these guys! They’re worth the listen.

2. I was and still am completely intrigued by the thought of trying to distill truth from a single image.  I loved the unexpected revelations of all these photography projects in The Question of Identity. I feel like I learned some truth about myself too.

Photography by Judy Starkman

3.  For awhile, I felt like I’d lost a particular voicing and lightness, and How to Unwind was the start of getting it back. And who doesn’t need a good unwind? Six months later in the midst of winter, I continue to practice sprawling on a professional level. Also, the music is great in this post and the dog continues to be stinkin adorable.

4. This post was sort of a quiet little piece, but “The Hedgehog in the Fog” has become one of my favorite visual stories. And the dedication of the creator behind the animation is one which encourages and gives perspective on my work now.  So in case you missed it the first time, here’s a story of sweet friendship.

5. For me, the post A Bearable Life with its Kurt Vonnegut quote and short documentary is the reason why Pakou and I try to be creators and why we’ve started this blog to appreciate other creators.

“Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow.”

So do it! In any way, shape, or form.

Pakou’s Favorite Abi-Post: One thing about sharing a blog with another writer is that Abi and I don’t really discuss about the content of what we write. It’s usually a surprise to me what she decides to share about. My favorite Abi-post is the story and photos of Vivian Maier. Similar to Maier, I grew up in the city, nannied throughout school to pay for tuition, and when I’m not working I like to work on some sort of creative endeavor. Abi inspired me with sharing about Maier’s life.

Your thoughts? Here’s to another year of many more posts.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Abi’s Top Posts at offthefrontporch.

meta

