Mid-Winter Week Laughter

January 25, 2012 § 2 Comments

Daily life activities, a curry noodle soup explosion in the kitchen, and listening to Obama’s State of the Union address took most of my time this evening; therefore, this post is written about what is daily on mind and what inspires me to go to work everyday. This post isn’t about artistry or aesthetics but it is about good people.

My students.

It’s been a while since I have shared some of my interactions with them. Some days are frustrating and tiring, but I’m thankful for the overall joy they share with me.

Sometimes I wish I could hug away some of the issues my students deal with.

A couple of months ago, I cut off more than 10 inches of hair. It’s the shortest it has ever been since my baby days. Lately, I have been styling my hair a bit different and one of my students noticed.

Miss Vang: What do you think about my new hair style?

First grade boy: You look good and black.

At times working with students with communication difficulties can be somewhat humorous. The following conversation gave me some insight in how adults can often use confusing language with young students.

Miss Vang: Tanya (1st grader name changed), you keep getting taller and taller every time I see you.

Tanya: Next year, I’m gonna be a grown up.

Teaching social skills can be frustrating and funny all within one session. This interaction occurred while helping a class of 6 and 7 year olds on how to identify emotions and share examples of when they feel a certain way.

Teacher: What is this face? (a photo is shown to the class of a boy with a squirmy face)

Class: Gross! (kids yelled it out)

Tanya: Like dirty rice gross! (referencing a hot food option that kids detest)

A nod to my students who inspire me to be a better speech-language pathologist. I am a lucky one.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Mid-Winter Week Laughter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mid-Winter Week Laughter at offthefrontporch.

meta

