A Month of Solitude

February 1, 2012 § 5 Comments

For 2012, I committed to a one-a-day project, creating something small each day as a way to spark creativity in other areas. I decided to take a daily photo around a specific theme.

For the month of January, I explored solitude. As I’ve written here, the concept of solitude intrigues me because of both our positive and negative associations with it. Moments of solitude can help us relax and understand ourselves better; other times it can grow oppressive.

January is a particularly good month for this visual reflection. After the parties and rush of family-filled holidays, we hunker down into routine. The weather cuts our traveling, and few kids play outside and even fewer neighbors. It can be a difficult month to get through. Yet it’s also a month I feel the least guilty saying no to going out and yes to spending an evening reading. It seems to be both a word and a month torn between the positive and negative. I’ve tried to keep this in mind as I’ve taken photos.

Below are some of my favorites.

You can see the entire series on solitude here.

Stay tuned! February begins a new photo theme.

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to A Month of Solitude

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Month of Solitude at offthefrontporch.

meta

