Collection of January Projects

February 6, 2012 § 4 Comments

As I write this post, I am realizing how shy I can be about sharing. As my roommate makes dinner two rooms over in the kitchen and Andrew Bird’s music drowns out my voice, I say out loud to myself, “Ridiculous, Pakou! Just share it!”

(sigh)

Alright, I will. Sometimes self-mantras can be a good kick in the butt. Here it is, folks, my completed projects from the past month.

1. My new hair style has inspired me to explore a little more with hair accessories. I used scrap fabrics (a couple are from Uganda) to sew a few headbands. Now, the Radio Dept. has made its way into the soundtrack of this post.

2. In honor of my roommate turning a year older, I planned a party to celebrate the wonderful person she is. A group of us gathered at a local shop that hosts creative parties. To make the magnetic boards, we painted the side of the wood border, decoupaged strips of paper to the front, and selected a paper background to cover the magnetic portion of the board. The best part of this project was creating in a community. Megafaun is now serenading me as I move onto the third project.

I focused on green and browns for the border.

3. Someone at work put a wool sweater on the “I don’t want this anymore, please take it or it will be thrown away” table and I took it. I couldn’t just walk away from a perfectly warm, wool sweater. I decided to repurpose the wool by turning it into a pair of mittens. They’re not perfect mittens, but they will definitely keep your hands warm. To make your own mittens from a sweater, go here. As the music continues with this post, Grizzly Bear reminds me that in two weeks it will be President’s Day.

4. This small painting is part of a bigger project that belongs to Abi. I’m not very strong with my painting skills, but it was really nice to spend a sunny morning mixing colors and exploring how different brushes transfer paint. I wonder how Feist would paint the city? She would probably rather use words paired with chords than brushes dipped in paint.

In this past month, one thing I have learned about my creative process is that I need long gaps of time to really get into the groove of creating. I can’t pick up a half hour here and half hour there to work on a drawing or sewing project. I need at least an hour or two. Also, music has been a great companion to these projects. I am excited to see what will happen as I continue to create in February.

Dear Readers, what have your learned about your own creative process?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Collection of January Projects

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Collection of January Projects at offthefrontporch.

meta

