DIY: Lace Flowers

February 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

Guest post by Grete Bauder.

Since I was nine, it’s been my job at family gatherings – i.e. Thanksgiving and Christmas – to make the table’s floral centerpiece. I use whatever flowers Mom has picked up at the grocery store, evergreens from the yard and nearby arboretum (Shhh! Don’t tell!), and oasis from my stash under the sink. Every year I try to top the years before in creativity and beauty.

This year Mom bought a bouquet of just-opening roses in all shades of pink. I thought they looked delicate and Victorian, so I wanted to create an arrangement in the same vein. As I pulled tapered candles from the top sideboard drawer, the lace coasters and doilies caught my eye. What could be more romantic and Victorian, well, other than puffed sleeves? I had to find a way incorporate them, so here’s what I did.

1. Pinch a lace doily, coaster, or hankie at its center. A round one will work best, but squares work too (as pictured here). Bunch the sides together and hold tight.

2. Find floral wire, a wooden skewer or anything thin, sturdy, and long enough to be the flower’s stem. Wrap a rubber band (or tape) around the fabric and stem.

3. Fluff your flower, arrange its petals, and voila! A lace doily and pale blue, lace-edged coaster among the roses.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DIY: Lace Flowers at offthefrontporch.

meta

