The Month of Orange

March 2, 2012 § 7 Comments

For February, I took 29 photographs of orange, keeping with my one-a-day photo project. This may have been a better project in October when all the leaves turn brilliant than in February – the month of pinks and reds – but searching for a glimpse of orange each day was an interesting challenge.

I chose orange as my theme because:
1. My sister told me to pick a color and as she’s always been older, bigger, and wiser, I generally do what she suggests.
2. Tangerine Tango is the Pantone color of the year. It’s everywhere!


3. I dislike orange. It’s true. Not a fan. Give me a good old green any day.
4. It’s citrus season. So if nothing else, I planned on eating a lot of clementines.

It was interesting to think about capturing a color versus a concept. Many of these photos don’t move me emotionally, but throughout the month I was more aware of details. For most of winter, I’ve walked to work, but it wasn’t until February 1 when I made the decision to look for orange that I noticed the spray paint marking the sidewalk for construction. Whether in construction, nature, food, light, or decor, orange has made its way into my daily life.

Below are a few favorites from the month.

You can see the entire series on orange here.

Take a look around you now. What’s orange in your life?

Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to The Month of Orange

  • Leah says:

    1. Orange! My favorite color! I love that you listen to me. : )
    2. The ad below your entry is the Ellen Degeneres JCP ad, and the secondary character is wearing orange in the still. Perfect.
    3. Think out “in the box” this would have been if you had done it in October. Much more surprising and interesting choice to do it in Feb.
    4. I love the bike and car light shot.
    5. What is the recipe for sweet potatoes above?

  • Dave says:

    Thanks Abigail. I agree with Leah that Feb. made it even more interesting.

  • Julia Reid says:

    This Much I Do Remember
    by Billy Collins

    It was after dinner.
    You were talking to me across the table
    about something or other,
    a greyhound you had seen that day
    or a song you liked,

    and I was looking past you
    over your bare shoulder
    at the three oranges lying
    on the kitchen counter
    next to the small electric bean grinder,
    which was also orange,
    and the orange and white cruets for vinegar and oil….

    http://soulofthegarden.com/poem11.html

    Love it–great project, Abi!

  • What an interesting idea! I am not a huge fan of orange, either, but I love that you found it in secret places (the the duck’s legs) and showed us how often it’s around us without us even realizing! Cool.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Month of Orange at offthefrontporch.

meta

