My Battle with Maple Syrup Jars

March 9, 2012 § 2 Comments

Today I was defeated by a jar of maple syrup, which I could not open. I twisted and pulled, used bare hands and grip pads, ran under hot water, and banged against the counter to no avail. Am I really so weak (those who’ve met me, please don’t answer)? Was the inherent syrupy stickiness which I so desired on my waffles the same as what prevented me from obtaining it? Did these Vermont jar manufacturers win the prize for “Most Sealed and Likely to Stay That Way” maple syrup?

I don’t know.

In the end, the jar sat victoriously on the kitchen counter…

…while I skulked on the living room floor.

We were not on speaking terms.

I feel like the badger in the 2006 Academy-nominated short film, who is repeatedly frustrated in getting the quiet he needs to sleep (while managing to be both crochety and adorable at the same time, thanks to Sharon Colman’s animation. Tonight I managed at least the crochety part.)

But who I want to be like is writer and parkour fan Amy – not just for her strength (though that would be very helpful in my encounters with maple syrup jars) but for her passion in pursuing a way of life that does not come easily, for allowing her fears to propel her forward, for just showing up.

Hmm….I suppose I should try again.

A nod to extraordinary women, the persistence of small mammals, and yes, even jar manufacturers driven by passion for perfectly preserved maple syrup.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Battle with Maple Syrup Jars

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Battle with Maple Syrup Jars at offthefrontporch.

meta

