Disagreeing with the gray

March 26, 2012 § 1 Comment

Today, I am choosing to spell gray with an “a” rather than an “e”. The sky is heavy, the lake melted in gray, and the folks across from me are in shades of gray. Even my nails are a painted a shade of gray.

"On a grey day" by Ursula Abresch

However, gray is not the color of my heart. This past weekend, I woke up and the first thought that came to my mind was that I wanted to go for a walk. So, I called my friend and we took an adventure to the abandoned train tracks near my home, threw rocks off the bridge into the creek below and sucked on popsicles. I spent the afternoon writing at a coffee shop and ended the day with music. It was so not a gray day. In fact, my day seemed more like this…

Photo by Alisa Demidova

Parts of me feel gray like that day. Recently, I shared with a friend that I feel like every year I’m changing – constantly growing and seeing different perspectives. The desire to be black and white seems less and less and so the gray is where I end up being. Gray is where I choose to sit for a while even if it is more challenging. I sit with the questions, the possibilities, and the opportunities.  It seems like a paradox, but as I sit in the gray my core continues to grow deeper and truer. This makes me hopeful.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll spell gray with an “e”.

For now, I leave you with a tune from Rosie Thomas. Go here to stream her latest album.

Dear Readers, be hopeful.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Disagreeing with the gray

  • JohnErikAdam says:

    Two things:

    1. Exploring closed-off train tracks is pretty much the best.

    2. I’ve found that often the uncertainty of grey (sorry… I prefer the e) yields neither o a black or white answer; rather, the more you sit in the grey, the more you realize the spectrum of color ahead. Uncertainty, then, yields not to greater certainty, but instead a greater, broader, and more vivid knowledge of diversity. And rainbows are quite swell.

    3. OK, and I couldn’t help but add a third: I wish Rosie were my fun aunt. We would walk in parks together, and family sing-alongs would increase greatly in quality.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Disagreeing with the gray at offthefrontporch.

meta

