Collection of March projects

April 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

New music and new recipes is one of the sweetest combinations in my life. This month’s project was completed in my kitchen with tunes dancing around with the aroma of baked goodies. Here is this month’s collection of projects:

Adelyn Rose is from my college town of Eau Claire, WI. I heard some of her tunes while on a mini road trip and instantly became a new fan. The Nutella Brownies was a recipe shared by my sister.

My food photography skills wish you could taste the brownies rather than just look at the brownies. They are truly delicious.

At a recent show of Little Scream, fronted by Laurel Sprengelmeyer, a petite wise woman with bold white hair danced to her tunes. She was totally feeling the music and freely moving to it. Later, I learned that she was Laurel’s mother. Of course she would be! We conversed later in the evening and it was such a treat. This Harvest Loaf recipe is from a professor of mine from graduate school.

It’s always nice to be reminded of music you can return to. Bowerbirds does that with me with their newest album. So, I return to a classic chocolate chip cookie recipe that got the name Pa’cookies. The recipe name came from a friend in college. I decided to try something different with this recipe and baked it into large cafe cookie size. I think it turned out pretty well.

Here's a big size Pa'cookie.

Inspired by St. Vincent (receive a free mp3 from her latest album here), I decided to try a recipe I made up. Here is the recipe for Strange Mercy Muffins. On a few muffins I drizzled some extra glaze leftover from the Harvest Bread recipe.

These tunes and recipes are like a dance party in the kitchen – try it out!

Dear Readers, happy weekend!

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Collection of March projects

  • Thank you for these food and music combos – esp the nutella brownies. I more of a brownies-from-a box-kind of baker, so I think I will just try to add it to that :) I have added Reeses cups to brownie mix and raspberry jam…surely this will work as well? :) (BTW, I grew up in Wisconsin – small town outside of Madison.) Cheers!

  • Pakou! I’m so excited to try baking these beautiful yummers! Also, I’m so glad you’re listening to Addie’s music. She’s a good friend of mine and I put her music on every morning I get to work. It’s a “Good Morning!” kind of music.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Collection of March projects at offthefrontporch.

meta

