An Imperfect April

April 30, 2012 § 3 Comments

I’m not entirely sure what I mean by imperfect for my one-a-day photo project in April. Maybe broken. Or lacking, something to do with absence. Maybe it’s just as simple as unmatched or uneven. In need of practicing, fixing, untangling. Maybe I didn’t quite get last month’s theme of partial out of my system.

It started with someone giving me the word flawless, which, after brief contemplation, I felt was an impossible task – aren’t we all striving for perfection? And aren’t we striving because perfection is so rarely found or achieved?

To be honest, I’m not sure flawless would be as interesting either. The conflict, the tension, the hook of the story comes through imperfection. Our lack of uniformity is what makes us interesting. Our flaws make us human.

So yes, this month’s photos are a bit more ambiguous. Nonetheless, it’s added 30 more photos to my project. Here are a few favorites.



Check out the rest of April’s photos here, or take a look back through the project here.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to An Imperfect April

  • Leah says:

    I don’t know why, but some of these made me want to weep (I didn’t b/c I’m sitting in a computer lab, but def. holding back)…even mom and her mascara, and the cast and the broken glass and the chair in the sun and…all quite lovely and sad and beautiful.

  • Dave says:

    Thanks Abigail. Photos can say so much.
    Dave

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Imperfect April at offthefrontporch.

meta

