Fairy Tales Remixed

May 11, 2012 § 13 Comments

Whether told as a musical, dance, political parody or anything in between, I can’t say no to a fairy tale. I like the tropes and characters and symbols. I like that we have common stories and can tell them and retell them in new ways through the lens of our cultural or personal values.

So I was thrilled to hear recently that 500 new European fairytales were discovered in Germany, stories written down by a faithful historian well-respected by the Grimm brothers. It’s interesting to see how both the stories that have become famous and the absence of other stories in our canon have shaped us. Read one of the new (and rather odd) tales, The Turnip Princess.

And I’m continually interested in fairy tale retellings.

Swedish artist Daniel Egnéus published his own interpretation of the Grimm’s brothers Little Riding Hood.

Daniel’s rendition looks both modern and gothic, and he makes the characters rich and upper class so he’d have the fun of drawing elaborate 19th century gowns.

This short film on the making of the book is fascinating as well.

I was drawn to the album The Crane Wife by the Decemberists for its storytelling. The whole album is a novel in song. Throughout the album is a three-part ballad fairy tale “The Crane Wife,” which Colin Meloy performs solo below.

Even Salvador Dali let himself be inspired by Alice in Wonderland in this collection of prints. “Down the Rabbit Hole,” 1969

“Advice from a Caterpillar,” 1969

What’s your favorite rendition of a fairy tale?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Fairy Tales Remixed

  • tenpastfour says:

    I am the same way! Love fairytales and the inspiration they evoke!

  • tenpastfour says:

    Love this. I am enamored by fairytales and what they inspire. Story telling is my favorite. -becky

  • localsugarhawaii says:

    Oh, you had me at fairytale and then I fell completely and madly in love with your entire post! I esp. love the Salvador DAli down the rabbit hole. May we all find a rabbit hole somewhere along life’s path and may we all fall down, down, down… =)

    Aloha,
    I’m here to follow you wherever you may go from the Friday favorites hop. I’d love it if you’d join us at localsugarhawaii.com. We’re riding the wave of life, one teensy tinsy adventure at a time.

    xoxo,
    Nicole
    localsugarhawaii.com

  • jesse says:

    Victorian.

  • jesse says:

    reminds me of Larry Rivers

  • Laura says:

    I really like Max Eilenberg’s version of Beauty and the Beast. Excited about Guillermo del Toro’s upcoming film version. Basically, it’s my favorite story. Also have been watching Once Upon a Time faithfully. Remix!

    • Oh, I hadn’t heard of either of these! I’m kind of excited for the snow white movie coming out this summer. And for Pixar’s Brave. Yes, scots-irish music seems perfect for fairy tales.

  • Becky says:

    I’m also very drawn to fairy tales.
    I think we’re drawn to what’s magical, spiritual, otherworldly, beautiful, good, and of course what’s just or the triumph of evil. Most fairy tales have some sort of these elements in them. Even the darker ones.

    Favorite fairytale reads: Ella Enchanted, Princess Ben, Fairest, Book of a Thousand Days, and Beauty.

    (All can be find in the kids section of the library.)

    Have you seen ABC’s Once Upon a Time series?
    Although the relationships aren’t very well developed, it’s still fun and a twisty take on most Disney fairytales that we have grown to love.
    I totes recommend it for some.

    • yes! ella enchanted was one of my favorites. I’ll have to check out your other ones. And now that there’s two recommendations for Once Upon a Time, I’ll have to add it to my “watch” list. Now all I need is a sick day….

  • Laura says:

    Oh, and George MacDonald’s fairy tales? Don’t get me started!

    Favorites/ shorts: The Day Boy and the Night Girl, Little Daylight, The Carasoyn, The Light Princess, and The Golden Key (illustrated by Maurice Sendak, of all people!)

    Favorites/ longs: The Lost Princess (aka The Wise Woman), and The Princess and Curdie.

  • interesting! I love a good fairy tale. Thanks for linking up with favorite thing :)

  • CJ says:

    Such a fan of fairytales around here! Found ya on the blog hop! http://sassyshopperreviews.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fairy Tales Remixed at offthefrontporch.

meta

