Weekend do: Sunshine love edition

May 18, 2012 § 2 Comments

This little heart in my body is beating with impatience for summer vacay. Guys and gals, I’m pretty lucky to have my summer vacay be three months long. In the hot summer months, I’ll be a face of freckled cheeks, arms of tan skin, and sleeping in until after the sun wakes the world up.

In anticipation for summer vacay I have started parts of my summer rhythm. Here’s this weekend’s do.

1. Do eat locally and seasonally. You will find so many ways to be creative with the fresh produce in your garden, farmer’s market or fridge. This is a fun way to expand one’s pallete.  Show a little love to local farmers and it will be returned with a loved tummy. OooO the rhubarb is a new pallete love of mind.

2. Do spend daylight outside in dirt. I say “Get dirty!” This summer I will be helping a friend with his organic CSA farm. I’m excited to learn from him about soil, growth, and tending to plants. I already have spent hours in our front yard planting some flowers and plants. However, the backyard is a forest of weeds, but I’m hoping to turn it into something beautiful. I have the summer to do so.

3. Do take long road trips. A road trip isn’t truly a road trip without the windows down, singing along with the music blaring, and the good ol’ sun shining on bare skin. Aww… yes.

Readers, sit in the sun and do good, real good, with what you have and with those who are around you. Happy Weekend!

Click on photos for photo credit.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Weekend do: Sunshine love edition

  • CurtissAnn says:

    I needed to hear this. Thanks! Beautiful.

  • St. John Erik Adam Hjalmeby I says:

    I boldly accept your challenge. Part of it, I’ve already fulfilled: I bought rhubarb for the first time a couple weeks ago at the farmer’s market… but then I went ahead and used it the exact same way three times, making a ginger rhubarb crisp on three separate occasions. Then again, I did toss in some strawberries last time for variation, and it was pretty good all three times.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend do: Sunshine love edition at offthefrontporch.

meta

