Can’t get enough of her

May 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

About her book, Mindy Kaling said,

This book will take you two days to read. Did you even see the cover? It’s mostly pink. If you’re reading this book every night for months, something is not right.

I finished her book in 5 days as I listened to her read driving in my car. I thought there was something wrong when I have been working my way through another novel by an Indian author, who I will not mention, and am still on chapter 3. I gave up. I decided to try a different Indian author and I am so glad I did.

Here are reasons why Mindy and I should be best friends:

1. We are emotional people. I get emotional when I see the commercials of orphans, when my students tell me they didn’t eat breakfast or had nightmares the evening before, or if I hear stories of someone’s birthday being completely forgotten. I cried when I got into graduate school, when I found out my friends were getting married, and I cried at absolutely anything remotely super exciting or super sad. I respond with tears. So does Mindy – she even says so.

..I find it incredibly impossible not to cry when I hear Stevie Nicks’s “Landslide,” especially the lyric: “I’ve been afraid of changing, because I’ve built my life around you.” I think a good test to see if a human is actually a robot/android/cylon is to have them listen to these song lyrics and study their reaction. If they don’t cry, you should stab them through the heart. You will find a fusebox.

A remarkable thing about me is that the time that elapses between a sad thought and a flood of tears is three or four seconds.

2. I’m not athletic. I have a confession. In high school my only Bs were in gym class. I can’t throw, catch, swing a bat or tennis racket to match the ball. Fear and the fact that I’m not very competitive takes over in any sport that I do. Luckily, I never was the last kid picked because there was always that kid who picked his nose and smelled funny. However, I can be quite the star in a kickball game or tag.

A handful of experiences when I was small have made me a confirmed nonathlete. In psychology (okay, Twilight) they teach you about the notion of imprinting, and I think it applies here. I reverse-imprinted with athleticism.

3. She’s absolutely smart. We’re both very intelligent women. Not in the “I’m so smart that I want to argue with you and make you feel small or less than” kind of smart, but an “Oh, that’s a good idea or different view” or “Thanks for that insight” smart. We like to share it because we think it will better the person and world. She’s spreading her witty wisdom with the world in her new project, of course, called “The Mindy Project.”

I dream of us sitting in my backyard eating brunch, laughing and crying over stories of our childhood, giggling and dreaming over men, and planning on how to solve poverty issues within our communities. Well, maybe we’ll just walk up and down the street and give away leftover popsicles from my fridge to children and ask them to play with us. Is that creepy? If I did it with Mindy, it wouldn’t be. I love this lady. If you want some more of Mindy, read some excerpts of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me here.

A nod to Mindy Kaling.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Can’t get enough of her

  • e says:

    Mindy Kaling is awesome and I can’t wait til her show launches! Does the other novel happen to be by Lahiri?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Can’t get enough of her at offthefrontporch.

meta

