Cycle adventures: Luck edition

June 4, 2012 § 4 Comments

As a child, my Saturday afternoons were not spent riding a bike in a cul de sac. I missed out on the neighborhood bike rides with the neighbor kids, because I never had a bike growing up. However, in recent years, riding a bike well has become one of my top priorities. This summer I’m going to conquer riding, turning, stopping, and starting on a bike. Join me as I document my bike adventures here.

Before the bike ride in the white helmet.

Madison is a very bike-friendly city. The friendliness of Madisonians and their bicycle lifestyle has given my very first bike. At the age of twenty-five, I’m as gleeful about my bike as any other 3-year old girl getting her first bike. During a city-wide garage sale, a woman sold me this bike for $20. What a steal! The first bike trip was a 2-minute bike ride to get tamales from the local Mexican grocery store. There were some squeals and wobbly legs, but I made the trip fine. I think my neighbor was nervous for me.

The next day a friend gave the bike a good tune up. It was really helpful to recieve a lesson about bike care. I think I should have paid better attention rather than trying to bake a new pasta dish. Eeesh!

In the hopes to bike better and dazzle my bike I was determined to get a helmet (safety first), bell, and basket. I thought ribbons would be a bit too much but I did consider it. Let me tell you this bike has been given me a lot of luck. A group of friends and I participated in an annual Ride the Drive. This is a fun community event to enjoy Madison’s signature streets while biking, roller blading, or walking. It’s great! The fear of not having to bike along cars encouraged me to bike the loop.

The mission to find a helmet was checked off when I passed a free helmet check tent. YES! Just what I needed and wanted. Instead of wearing the white, old, and used helmet I borrowed from my roommate I am now wearing a new, red, and well-fitted helmet. Safety first even at twenty-five. We celebrated with the Helmet Woman.

After a brunch stop at one of my favorite places, Graze, we continued the loop and the luck continued. At a Schwinn tent, I got a free bike bell. DOUBLE YES! Here it is ladies and gents. I wish I could strike it and let you hear the ring-a-ling saying, “Excuse me, can I pass please?”

The next mission is to find a basket for my blue crusier. My friend said it’s safer if the basket is attached on the back of the bike rather than the front because of the weight distribution. That’s good advice for a new rider. I wonder if I should make a little sign that says “New Rider” just to make others aware of my pace or sudden squeals. Hmm? Anyways, I’m excited to experience this town on my little blue cruiser this summer. I hope luck continues to ride along with me.

Thanks Madison for the inspiration to learn how to ride a bike.

Readers, when did you get your first bike or what is one of your favorite bike memories?

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Cycle adventures: Luck edition

  • Sarah says:

    I’ve developed a hatred for bicycle bells – here in Singapore, bikers use them to tell people on the sidewalk to get out of the way!

  • Danny Sabra says:

    My favorite biking experience was probably a couple weeks ago when I biked to my friend’s apartment and then had to bike home on a perfect late spring night. The streets were mostly abandoned and the air was cool and perfect. I highly recommend a night ride at least once!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cycle adventures: Luck edition at offthefrontporch.

meta

