Your words tickle me

June 13, 2012 § 2 Comments

This is my first day of summer vacation. I have been talking about summer vacation for a while and it is finally here. I’m so thankful.

via crumpledenvelope

It was bittersweet saying good-bye to the students and staff. Investing, advocating, learning, growing, and working with a school community for two years (especially as a newer speech-language pathologist) creates a unique attachment. There were so many moments I wish to share with you, but here are a few interactions I had with some kiddos I worked with this year.

A young boy was trying to understand the cycle of life.

B (5th grade boy) : I think my mom is pregnant.

Me: Oh, that’s great!

B: Did my dad have to give my mom sperm?

Me: (surprised face and having no clue on how to respond) Umm…

B: My dad had to have given my mom sperm to make a baby.

I quickly ended this conversation and moved on.

I wash my hair about every other day. On the day I did not wash my hair, a little boy noticed and this is the conversation we had. It is important to know that he is an African-American boy who probably has had many experiences with how to care for African-American hair. I, of course, do not have the typical African-American hair.

B (2nd grade boy): Hey, you did something different to your hair?

Me: What did I do? (wanting him to use descriptive language)

B: You greased it and put it back.

Me: I laughed out loud. I couldn’t hold it. After calming down I said, “It’s natural grease.”

I have been working with a student pretty intensely for this past year. I saw him about 5 times a week to work on language. Specifically, he has been working on using the pronoun “I”. He continues to replace the “I” with “me”. I decided to give him a special sticker. It basically was a posted noted with the “I” word paper-clipped to his shirt. I totally hyped it up for him and he thought it was the coolest thing. As I walked him to his next class I told his teacher about the special sticker. The boy smiled wide and held his posted note like a blue ribbon badge to show his teacher. He said, “I sticker.” He did use the word “I”, but incorrectly. However, the teacher and I laughed at how something so simple can have so much value to him. This is how the student understood the interaction:

B (2nd grade boy): Why you laughing on me?

Me: Because the words touch me.

B: It tickles you?

Me: Yeah, it tickles me.

B: It tickles your heart?

Me: Yeah, it does.

Readers, these little kiddos have touched my heart so deeply. They have inspired me to see value in the small things and to welcome different perspectives.

via weekdaycarnival

A nod to all of them.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Your words tickle me

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your words tickle me at offthefrontporch.

meta

