Good Lines

June 25, 2012 § 7 Comments

Most of my weekend was spent reading on my back porch, enjoying the green around me. Many times I stumbled across a line so good I had to jump up to write it down in my folder of “little darlings” or add it to the collection on my bathroom mirror – where all the good lines go down. Here are a few:

From Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai, who’s novel in verse chronicles a young Vietnamese girl’s immigrant experience.

Breathe in, peaceful mind.
Breath out, peaceful smile.

She strokes my back.

Chant, my daughter;
your whispers will bloom
and shelter you
from words
you need not hear.

 

From Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s novel The Shadow of the Wind:

A book is a mirror that offers us only what we already carry inside us, that when we read, we do it with all our heart and mind, and great readers are becoming more scarce by the day.

And from “Where Wings Could Be” by Susanna Childress:

                                                    What I need

from life: a few loves brilliant with return.

A nod to these writers.

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to Good Lines

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good Lines at offthefrontporch.

meta

