The Midwest Girl Goes West

June 27, 2012 § 4 Comments

I have never been West until this past week, the beautiful city of Seattle being my destination. Before Seattle, I fell in love with the mountains and the land Roosevelt fell in love with too.

North Dakota Badlands in Theodore Roosevelt National Park

My first view of snow peak mountains.

My home base was Whidbey Island, where I felt love surrounding me. Every morning I had a half lox, onion, and cream cheese bagel with coffee and woke up to this view.

I stayed in the music room.

On a rainy day I strolled down a misty Pacific coast and enjoyed my first visit to Whidbey Island Winery.

We had the Lemberger for dinner.

My first time seeing the Pacific Ocean.

Of course, I couldn’t leave Seattle without visiting Pike Place Market.

One of my favorites meals on this trip was having brunch at Sitka & Spruce on Melrose Avenue.

Instead of taking more photos of the beautiful space and delicious food I kept enjoying the meal.

The lush northwest has inspired me and the creations will be shared with you, dear Readers, in the future. Oh, traveling is so good for my soul. However, my love for the Midwest grows and I’m happy to be home.

What has been one of your favorite or inspirational places to visit?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to The Midwest Girl Goes West

  • Mitchell says:

    I’ve been really inspired by my trips to Rio de Janeiro and Haiti. The extreme contrast between beauty of creation and the sorrow of poverty really compels a person to love and seek justice for the poor.

  • Danny Sabra says:

    being a midwesterner myself, there’s always been a certain allure to the east coast. I recently was able to visit Boston, and I absolutely loved it! Cobble stone streets! The vestiges of our founding fathers still exist all over the city and it’s quite an amazing place to visit!

  • P. Graham says:

    OMG!! I totally just went out there!! I was there last week and it was absolutely fantastic! I stayed right in the center of downtown and ate at the famous Crab Pot. I too went to an island but it was called Bainbridge. The mountains are beautiful as well as the people. Such a magical place. Thanks for sharing this article, so happy you went!! :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Midwest Girl Goes West at offthefrontporch.

meta

