Art Up So Close

July 18, 2012 § 1 Comment

Walking through Art Fair on the Square was like seeing 100 exhibits within steps of one another. It was wonderful to get up close to each artist’s work. Below are some of my favorites.

I love Beth Bojarski’s form of storytelling, which she displays on wood with layers of paint. Each character she creates has so much weight to them and it engages me to ask “Who is this?” See more of her work here.

Safe Place to Land by Beth Bojarski

Laura Harris is a mixed media artist who shares the same career background as me. She worked as a speech-language pathologist (SLP) in the public school system for years before committing full-time to art.  She is the second artist who I have met in the past few months who worked as a SLP, and this fact continues to inspire me to keep pursuing the creative side of me.

Twisting a Thought by Laura Harris

My eyes were inches away from Amy Gillespie’s work. At first glance I couldn’t figure out what materials she was using until I read a card that explained the combination of wood, felt, and paint. Her pieces are gorgeous.

Amy Gillespie

A nod to all of the artists who share their work with all of us.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Art Up So Close

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Art Up So Close at offthefrontporch.

meta

