Cycle adventures: Community edition

August 13, 2012 § 6 Comments

There is something about riding my bike through my city that gives a different love, experience, and perspective on Madison. I can now say comfortably and loudly, “I can ride a bike!” It feels pretty great to say that outside of myself. Now, I’m just working on being more comfortable on a bike. I will get there.

I’m riding more and more. I rode to meet friends for breakfast, bake at the cafe, and to enjoy some coffee at one of my favorite coffee shops in town. One thing that I love to do on my bike is ring my sweet little bell. However, I’m finding it harder to ride longer distances or go up hill on a one-speed cruiser. These legs of mine are working hard and knowing that I could be working less makes me want a different bike. I fell so quickly in love with the blue cruiser because it was so cute. At this point, function is topping cuteness.

There it is folks – I’m on the market for a new bike (new or used). One that fits me and has more than one speed. I’m nervous and excited about the adventure of a new bike; however, I’m pretty ignorant when it comes to bikes. I’m not sure what to look for. Readers, what should I look for when purchasing a bike?

Thanks for the riding tips thus far. They say, “It takes a village to raise a baby.” I say, “It takes a community to raise a biker.” There’s bike safety, bike routes, bike shops, and more that all support a biker. It really does take a community and I love being a part of it.

I hope you enjoy the little video above. A little inspiration for your Monday.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Cycle adventures: Community edition

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cycle adventures: Community edition at offthefrontporch.

meta

