Giving Galettes a Try

August 20, 2012 § 7 Comments

Last winter as I sat chatting about books and writing and life in my friend’s cozy kitchen, I watched her hands (always busy) smooth out a dessert with pie crust and apples, my offers of help shrugged away with an “almost done” look. It was simple and delicious and in the oven before I realized what was happening. As with most of her meals, I tucked the idea away to try later, though “later” so often gets away from one.

But the other day as I stared at some questionable-looking blueberries and a rapidly fading apple in my fridge – neither of which eating raw appealed to me – I remembered my friend’s galette and whipped out the rolling pin.

The dough is easy – just a simple pie dough recipe: 2 1/2 c flour, 1 stick of butter, a dash of salt, and 6 T water. I rolled the dough, sprinkling it with a bit of sugar, and chopped up the apple into thin slices to layer with blueberries in the center, leaving an inch from the edge.

 

I scattered a few chunks of butter over it to melt in and sprinkled it all with cinnamon, cloves, and ginger. Then I folded the edges over the fruit as far as they would go and baked it for 20 min at 400 degrees. It was delicious and roommate-approved.

The following day, an unplanned trip to the farmer’s market left me wondering what to do with all that veggie goodness.

The galette was so good, I decided to make a savory one. This time I chopped the zucchini into thin slices, along with tomatoes, onions and garlic cloves. I tossed it all with a bit of olive oil, apple cider vinegar, basil, thyme, salt, and pepper before spreading it over the rolled out dough.

After baking for 15 min, I took the galette out and topped with shredded cheese (I only had cheddar on hand, but crumbled feta would have been perfect), before baking another 5 min. So good!

What recipes have inspired you to get creative?

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to Giving Galettes a Try

  • Liza says:

    The veggie one looks like super goodness! I might just have to try it, especially because I love veggies, cheese (not so much bread) but I like to dig into food sometimes. :)

  • Liza says:

    A lot of my friends are not bread/crust fans either. One of them is on a Paleo diet, partially because she’s an athlete and she needs the carbs.
    Since veggies and fruits are already loaded with good carbs anyway, maybe you could have fun with it and substitute it with almond flour instead of unbleached for your friend so you can still get your fun crust you like. Just an idea. :)

  • e says:

    I loved the first sentence of this post. It felt like the first page to one of my favorite Madeleine L’Engle books. I wish I got to read your writing more often!

  • Petal says:

    I enjoyed reading this! I tried to follow these measurements, though, and ended up with an ever-so-slightly moistened powder – it didn’t seem like something that could be worked with easily, let alone turn into dough that could be folded over. Is this normal, or is there something I’m missing (entirely possible)?

  • Abi, you are my friend with cozy kitchen and busy hands. I love cooking with you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Giving Galettes a Try at offthefrontporch.

meta

