Fall is here and so am I

September 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

The air is a little cooler, the sun sets sooner, and cozy sweaters are becoming more of my everyday wear.  The fall season is making its entrance and I have returned with it to the blog. I’ve missed it and you, dear Readers.

The past few weeks have been filled with many transitions, changes, and projects. One of the projects I have been working on is the mission wall for Redamtè, a local coffee house in the city. Collaborating and trying to interpret someone else’s vision while balancing my visual aesthetics was harder than I thought it would be. I put a lot of time and energy into this project and am quite proud of it. Most of the objects we used for the wall were found or thrifted to keep with the idea of repurposing items. Below is a quick snap shot of what I worked on in August and September.

A friend and I found 10 picture frames for $10 at a thrift store. I decided to paint them all with the Redamte colors: blue, green, and brown.

For the first time and with some help from a friend I did some pyrography, which is mostly commonly known as woodburning. This process took a lot longer than I thought it would – two letters for every Cosby show.

We painted old door knobs black to use as a ledge for the wood signs.

Here is the layout of the wall before we started to install it together. The three circles are old bicycle wheels we found from a local bike store. They were so kind in giving it to us for free.

If you are in the area go and take a look. There’s much more that has happened in these past few weeks that I want to share so come back Thursday for the complete look of the wall and a little life update!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fall is here and so am I at offthefrontporch.

meta

