Taking a trip back

October 1, 2012 § 2 Comments

Is it too late? Can I still share? Readers, enter with me back in time.

I wonder what stories these doorways would tell.

A little over a month ago, I went east with my sister to visit my cousin in Washington DC. We spent our time walking the history filled cobblestone paths, ate delicious food prepared by local chefs, and filled up with inspiration and gratitude as we walked in the museums. Below are some snapshots from my time in DC.

The public transportation in Washington DC was one of the cleanest, easiest, and prettiest I have ever seen.

The first meal I had in the city was at this lovely sushi house in Georgetown.

One of my favorite moments of this trip was seeing the masterpieces in the National Gallery of Art. I did a solo walk through the works of Motherwell, Pollock, and Rothko. It felt like I was walking through this secretive visual story and every other painting demanded a moment of my time. As I walked through the gallery I couldn’t help but feel like each painting deserved to be acknowledged and appreciated. The strokes, the color, and the massive creations made me pause sight after sight.

My first live sight of a Motherwell masterpiece.

One of my thoughts as I saw this memorial was how powerful and special a name is to the person who holds it and to the people who hold that person close.

A French brunch at Bonaparte was perfect for Sunday morning.

What has been one of the most interesting or inspiring places you have visited?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Taking a trip back

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Taking a trip back at offthefrontporch.

meta

