Craft edition – Watercolor

November 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

It’s mid-November and I realized I have yet to post my creative projects from October until now. I spent six weeks exploring the world of watercolor painting. It was such a wonderful experience. Below are some small paintings that I completed and continue to work on.

The above painting was created by dipping yarn in a small bowl of paint. Then I created a small swirl and pulled it away from the paper.

It was really neat to create some texture by laying down some paint. On top I scrunched some plastic wrap and weighted it down with a bowl of water. After awhile, I lifted the plastic wrap and got the above.

For this painting I put down two layers of color and then squirted alcohol on top. It was really neat to see what happened with the paint when in contact with alcohol.

Can you see it? See the squirrel?

I’m still working on the leaf painting. I’m not sure how it will turn out, but excited to see the layers of colors at the end. I’m telling myself to be patient. One thing I have learned about using watercolor is that patience is needed when layering and mixing colors. It’s okay to walk away and return. Seeing the layers of colors is something new for me and I’m glad that my eyes are more aware. Awareness of the colors, sights, lines, and textures that are around me have been such an inspiration. I didn’t think I would learn about awareness and colors from a watercolor class, but I did. I’m thankful for it.

What have you been inspired by lately?

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Craft edition – Watercolor

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Craft edition – Watercolor at offthefrontporch.

meta

