Disregarding the red line

November 26, 2012 § 3 Comments

This past weekend in a game of Scruples I was asked a question similar to this, “You have a foreign name that may be difficult to pronounce. Do you change it?” Automatically I replied with a strong, “No.” Recently, I realized that being known and called by name has a stronger tied to my identity than I previously thought. There’s something to having someone greet, ask, direct, and affirm me by using my name – Pakou. Sometimes when I type my name out and that red, squiggly, error line appears under it I get a little irritated. It’s my name not an error.

Finding myself in the woods with this untouched, beautiful view.

Of course, in the simplest form names are made of phonemes and syllables strung together, but to me they are so much more. Sometimes just mentioning someone’s name a photo strip flashes moments of smells, conversations, touches, and feelings of that person in me. How quickly that happens.

When I was younger I would cringed whenever someone new mispronounced my name. I absolutely wished my name was Josephine or Isabella. Not anymore though. I like Pakou. I’ve fallen into it even if the red, squiggly, error line continues to appear.

What are you disregarding today?

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Disregarding the red line

  • Jacki says:

    I like this. I get a red squiggle when I type my name, too. But I wouldn’t change it to the common spelling :-)

  • I grew up wishing my name were more exotic. “Deborah” felt so bland to me. As I grew older, I came to love how it felt both strong and feminine to me. Now I love my name . . .

    As for disregarding? I disregarded anxiety, stress and agitation for the most part today. It feels great to ignore those particular little red squiggles.

  • a says:

    This was a great post. I have a love-hate relationship with my names (mostly hate), but maybe someday I’ll find peace like you have. I’m disregarding refined sugar today and going stevia.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Disregarding the red line at offthefrontporch.

meta

