Self-Portrait in November

December 3, 2012 § 3 Comments

I’ve been wanting to do a series of self-portraits ever since seeing Vivian Maier’s unique collection, but I’ve also been a bit shy about it. It’s seems somehow egotistical or self-absorbed to post all photos of myself – and more vulnerable too.

I’ve definitely learned more about my body in the process – like my incredibly bad posture (I may finally listen to my mother and stand up straight!), where I need to work on my lines in yoga positions, and how in photos and in life I prefer to glance to the side rather than straight on. But I’ve also been obsessed recently with Amy Cuddy’s TED talk on how our body language shapes our mentality. Her opinion is that standing in postures of power and confidence for a few minutes will change how we think about our role in a situation. It’s been interesting over the month how my postures have oscillated between confidence and vulnerability. Both are positive and needed, I think, but they are each best in different situations. I am working towards both at the right times.

Here are a few highlights from the month.

writing in the kitchen with teahallway self-portrait

silhouette

shoulderafter a long night

hand reaching

You can view the rest here.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Self-Portrait in November

  • a says:

    I viewed the whole set and I covet your wood floors. To a lesser extent, I covet your green mug and the dog. I’ve thought about taking self-portraits before but never had the courage. Kudos to you!

  • Dave says:

    I look at those steps and all I can see is furniture!

  • Anna says:

    lovely Abi. Some of my fav’s are: the ones where you appear in a sliver of dim light, the one where you’re reading on our couch (there’s so much light and it looks like a rich glimpse into your daily home (like those portraits of ppl in their homes that i beilieve we looked at. people among their things) and also the kleenex box is just amazing), the one where you are laying on the couch with cool tights on (the shapes are so fluid and symmetrical, they make me think you’re floating on the couch cushions as though they were water), the blurry windblown one (it looks like an impressionist painting to me- a perfect pic of you in this city), you on the stairs, and the one of your silhouette against the closed blinds. i assumed you were looking out, but i suppose i wouldnt be able to tell the diference if you were looking toward the camera. i like thinking youre looking toward the window, its a striking image for me with the blinds closed. courageous and beautiful

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Self-Portrait in November at offthefrontporch.

meta

