The Handmade

December 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

A couple of months ago I was invited to participate in a craft exchange. Each person was asked to bring at least 6 items of a handmade good to share with others. I decided to make decorative wreaths from a straw-based wreath ring, yarn, and felt. I made one last year, but decided to challenge myself with different flower types and color combinations. Here they are all ready to depart from my home to another, from my hands to another.

Wreathstogo

I arrived to the event with handmade goods spread out across the room. An array of emotions came about inside of me: satisfaction of accomplishing the project, gratefulness for the invitation, insecurity that comes from putting my work out there, and the desire to have my hands do more. The desire to do more, excitement of the evening, and meeting other creative women quickly erased the insecurities that walked in the room with me. Below is what my hands created.

Wreath1

Wreaths3

Wreath2

Readers, keep on doing your good work – the good work from your hands.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Handmade at offthefrontporch.

meta

